glp1medication.guide

peptides

Orforglipron: The First Small-Molecule Oral GLP-1 for Weight Management

What this page establishes

  • ATTAIN-1 reported mean weight reductions at week 72 of 5.1%, 7.0% and 9.6% for 6, 12 and 36 mg vs 2.5% placebo on the treatment-regimen estimand.
  • On the efficacy estimand, 36 mg gave 12.4% (27.3 lb) mean loss at 72 weeks; 59.6% lost >=10% and 39.6% lost >=15%.
  • FDA approved orforglipron (Foundayo, NDA 220934) on 1 April 2026 based on the ATTAIN programme (>4,500 participants across two registration trials); it is a small-molecule non-peptide GLP-1 RA taken without food or water restrictions.
  • Safety profile was reported as consistent with the GLP-1 class and dose-dependent in efficacy.

Quick answers

  • Is orforglipron a peptide?

    No. It is a small molecule, which is why it can be manufactured by conventional chemical synthesis and taken as a plain tablet.

    Read the full answer
    Peptide pills such as oral semaglutide need absorption workarounds and the administration rules that come with them.

  • Does it work as well as the injections?

    Not on weight loss. ATTAIN-1 reported 12.4% at 72 weeks on 36 mg on the efficacy estimand, against 22.5% for tirzepatide in SURMOUNT-1 and 14.9% for semaglutide 2.4 mg in STEP 1.

    Read the full answer
    The trade is convenience, oral administration and manufacturing scale.

  • Why are two different percentages published for the 36 mg dose?

    9.6% is the treatment-regimen estimand, which includes everyone randomised regardless of discontinuation.

    Read the full answer
    12.4% is the efficacy estimand, which describes participants taking the drug as intended. They answer different questions about the same trial arm.

Orforglipron loses to the injectables on weight. ATTAIN-1 reported 12.4% at 72 weeks on 36 mg on the efficacy estimand, against 22.5% for tirzepatide in its own trial. The reason it matters anyway is that orforglipron is not a peptide. It is a small molecule, made by ordinary chemical synthesis rather than by the biological manufacturing that peptides need, taken as a daily tablet with no food or water restrictions. That changes what can be produced, at what scale, and eventually at what price. FDA approved it as Foundayo on 1 April 2026 for weight management.

Why a small molecule is different from a peptide

Peptide drugs are chains of amino acids, manufactured through processes that are slow, expensive and hard to scale. That constraint is the reason semaglutide and tirzepatide both went into shortage, and the reason a compounding industry grew up around those shortages.

Small molecules are made by chemical synthesis in conventional pharmaceutical plants. Capacity is easier to add and unit costs are lower. Orforglipron activates the same GLP-1 receptor as semaglutide while being a completely different kind of molecule, which is why it can be a plain tablet rather than a peptide tablet with absorption machinery built around it.

ATTAIN-1, and the two numbers it produced

The ATTAIN programme enrolled more than 4,500 participants across two registration trials. ATTAIN-1 ran 72 weeks with three doses against placebo.

9.6% and 12.4% describe the same trial arm The treatment-regimen estimand counts everyone randomised to 36 mg regardless of whether they stayed on the drug. The efficacy estimand describes the effect among participants who took it as intended. The first answers what happens when a drug is prescribed to a population, the second answers what it does when taken. Both are honest, and quoting either one without saying which is not.
DoseTreatment-regimen estimandEfficacy estimand
6 mg5.1%not reported here
12 mg7.0%not reported here
36 mg9.6%12.4% (27.3 lb)
Placebo2.5%not reported here

Responder rates

On the efficacy estimand at 36 mg, 59.6% of participants lost at least 10% of body weight and 39.6% lost at least 15%. Those thresholds are more informative than the mean for anyone trying to work out what a given drug might do for them, because the mean averages non-responders and strong responders into a single number that describes nobody.

Approval status

FDA approved orforglipron on 1 April 2026 for weight management, under the brand name Foundayo and NDA 220934, based on the ATTAIN programme. The approval letter carries the indication wording, and the current label is the authority for what the indication covers now.

Safety was reported as consistent with the GLP-1 class, dominated by gastrointestinal effects, and dose-dependent in efficacy. Long-term outcome data are still accumulating, which is the normal position for a recently approved drug and a genuine difference from semaglutide, which has SELECT behind it.

No food or water restrictions

Oral semaglutide is a peptide in a tablet, which means it needs absorption help and comes with administration requirements set out in its label. Orforglipron does not, because a small molecule survives the gut without that scaffolding.

This sounds like a convenience footnote and behaves like an adherence variable. Any administration rule that has to be followed daily is a rule that gets broken, and a drug taken inconsistently underperforms its own trial data. A tablet with no timing constraint removes that failure mode.

The maintenance-switch trial

A separate phase 3 trial, described by Lilly as first of its kind, showed people maintaining weight loss after switching from injectable incretin therapy to oral orforglipron. That is a distinct clinical role from initial weight loss: get the loss with an injectable, hold it with a tablet.

Weight regain after stopping incretin therapy is well documented, and maintenance is the unsolved half of obesity pharmacotherapy. A cheaper, easier-to-manufacture oral option for the maintenance phase would change how the whole category is used, if the finding holds up in published detail.

Where it sits against the other orals

Oral semaglutide 25 mg was approved on 22 December 2025 and reported 16.6% at 64 weeks under adherence in OASIS 4. Orforglipron reported 12.4% at 72 weeks on the comparable estimand. No head-to-head trial exists, so that gap is indirect evidence from two different trials in two different populations.

Not medical advice Educational content only, with no dosing guidance. Approval details here come from the FDA approval letter for NDA 220934 and should be read against the current FDA label. Whether any GLP-1 medicine is appropriate for you is a question for a licensed prescriber.

The evidence, one row per claim

ClaimTierSource
ATTAIN-1 reported mean weight reductions at week 72 of 5.1%, 7.0% and 9.6% for 6, 12 and 36 mg vs 2.5% placebo on the treatment-regimen estimand.establishedClinicalTrials.gov posted results for ATTAIN-1 (NCT05869903), first posted 14 August 2026
On the efficacy estimand, 36 mg gave 12.4% (27.3 lb) mean loss at 72 weeks; 59.6% lost >=10% and 39.6% lost >=15%.establishedClinicalTrials.gov posted results for ATTAIN-1 (NCT05869903), first posted 14 August 2026
FDA approved orforglipron (Foundayo, NDA 220934) on 1 April 2026 based on the ATTAIN programme (>4,500 participants across two registration trials); it is a small-molecule non-peptide GLP-1 RA taken without food or water restrictions.establishedFDA NDA 220934 approval letter (Foundayo / orforglipron), 1 April 2026
A first-of-its-kind phase 3 trial showed people maintained weight loss after switching from injectable incretin therapy to oral orforglipron.emergingEli Lilly
Safety profile was reported as consistent with the GLP-1 class and dose-dependent in efficacy.establishedClinicalTrials.gov posted results for ATTAIN-1 (NCT05869903), first posted 14 August 2026
Semaglutide injectable: 0.25 / 0.5 / 1.0 / 1.7 / 2.4 mg weekly, 4 weeks per step, 2.4 mg maintenance; 14.9% mean loss at 68 weeks (STEP 1).establishedSTEP 1
Tirzepatide: 2.5 mg initiation then 5 / 10 / 15 mg weekly maintenance; 16.0% / (10 mg intermediate) / 22.5% mean loss at 72 weeks (SURMOUNT-1).establishedEli Lilly / NEJM

Questions people ask

Does orforglipron have a cardiovascular indication?

Its approval, as Foundayo, was for weight management based on the ATTAIN programme. Oral semaglutide 25 mg was approved including a MACE risk-reduction indication. Check the current orforglipron label for its indication scope rather than assuming class effects carry across.

Will it be cheaper?

Small-molecule manufacturing is cheaper and easier to scale than peptide manufacturing, which is the structural argument for lower prices and better supply. Pricing is a commercial decision, not a chemical one, so the manufacturing advantage makes lower cost possible rather than certain.

Sources

  1. ClinicalTrials.gov posted results for ATTAIN-1 (NCT05869903), first posted 14 August 2026
  2. FDA NDA 220934 approval letter (Foundayo / orforglipron), 1 April 2026
  3. Eli Lilly
  4. STEP 1
  5. Eli Lilly / NEJM

Where this comes from

Every number on this page traces to a named source. There are 7 sourced claims below the fold, each with the document it came from.

Sources consulted: ClinicalTrials.gov posted results for ATTAIN-1, FDA NDA 220934 approval letter, Eli Lilly, STEP 1, Eli Lilly / NEJM.

Not clinically reviewed. This page was researched and written against primary regulatory and trial sources, and no clinician has checked it.

Sources last read 2026-08-23.

Keep reading

Educational content, reviewed 2026-08-23. Not medical advice, not a prescription, and not a substitute for a clinician who knows your history. Doses named here are label schedules or doses used in named trials, never a recommendation to you.

Evidence updates

When a number here changes, you will know